Contact Stamp Gallery

1220B Adele H. Stamp Student Union
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742


Contemporary Art Purchasing Program


*Applications for the 2018–2019 CAPP committee are now closed. We will be reviewing applications and scheduling interviews in the coming weeks* 

The University of Maryland College Park Stamp Student Union has developed a Contemporary Arts Purchasing Program (CAPP) whose mission is to educate and inspire by exposing the campus community to thought-provoking art created by noted contemporary artists. Now in its tenth year, the program provides a student committee the opportunity to interact with the art world by researching, discussing, and purchasing artwork by emerging and established contemporary artists. CAPP operates on a biannual basis. Students of diverse majors are selected to participate through a competitive application process. Together they embark on a rigorous research and training program, including extensive visits to galleries and artists’ studios in Baltimore, New York, and Washington, DC. Explore the collection online!






  • Enroll in ARTT489C: Advanced Special Topics in Art - Markets and Collecting (3 credits) [May satisfy 400-level and/or art theory elective requirement(s) for undergraduate Studio Art Majors and MFAs; may satisfy one of four "Supporting Area" courses required for Art History Majors with approval from Director of Undergraduate Studies; applicants in other disciplines should inquire with their program director about the course's applicability as a distribution requirement in their field.] 
  • Attend weekly meetings and conduct extensive independent research




  • Enroll in a one-credit class to prepare for trips to DC, Baltimore, and New York City, where the committee visits galleries and artists' studios
  • Participate in trips, gallery tours, and studio visits, including over spring break (March 19–26, 2017) 
  • Present acquisition recommendations to the CAPP Advisory Board, a panel of CAPP alumni, curators, collectors, and art historians
  • Attend weekly meetings and conduct extensive independent research




  • Rachael Carruthers, History/Studio Art ‘17
  • Grace DeWitt, Animal Science/Studio Art ‘17
  • Nicolay (Nick) Duque-Robayo, Art History/Philosophy ‘18
  • Kathleen Hubbard, Art History/Philosophy ‘2017
  • Damon King, Business ‘17
  • Sarang Yeola, Physics/Economics ‘18



  • James Boyle
  • Zoe Copeman
  • Melissa Rogers
  • Lauren Jeyoon
  • Korey Richardson
  • Makeda Solomon
  • Charlotte Zhang



  • Nathalia Gabriel
  • Zulekha Sayyed
  • Jennifer Clifford
  • Hanna Kelly
  • Alexander McCormick
  • Sarah Buchanan



  • Michele Briley
  • Erin Kim
  • Mara Duvra
  • David Phelps
  • Eldis Sula



  • Sana Javed
  • Ali Stuebner
  • Alison Reilly
  • Megan Wickless
  • Ophra Paul



  • Lindsay Smilow
  • Dominique Ryan
  • Dara Koppelman
  • Rachel Kurinsky
  • Emily Newton
  • Fernando Ramirez