Contact Transfer and Off-Campus Student Life

0110 Adele H. Stamp Student Union
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742


301-314-0159
tocsl@umd.edu

ABOUT US

Welcome to Transfer and Off-campus Student Life!

 

TOCSL exists to CONNECT and ENGAGE Transfer and Off-campus Students of UMD. 

TOCSL

We ultimately aim to: 

« Equip transfer and off-campus students with the resources to thrive as individuals and to serve as leaders to the off-campus student population »

« Empower transfer and off-campus students to overcome barriers to success »

« Ease the transition for transfer and off-campus students »

 

 

 

Announcements

TOCSL Spring 2018 New Student Welcome!

posted on January 04, 2018

Join us on Thursday, January 25th, 2018 from 4:00 to 6:00 pm in the TerpZone as we welcome and celebrate you, our transfer and off-campus Terps! 
Event Schedule:
Bowling: 4pm-6pm 
Chat with Transfer Students from Your Major: 4pm-4:45pm 
Pizza Served: 4:45pm 
Resource Fair: 4:30pm-5:30pm
Speed-Friending: 5:15pm-6pm

Register for & Join the T2T Learning Community!

posted on January 03, 2018

Transitioning into UMD will be a wonderful experience.  You can ease your transition and make it more meaningful by joining the Transfer2Terp (T2T) Learning Community. T2T is the only student union based learning community exclusively for students transferring into Maryland. 

 

The T2T Learning Community offers first-semester transfer students the opportunity to take HESI310,  a 3-credit upper-level course designed to translate your previous success into a strong start at Maryland. T2T students work alongside faculty and staff to achieve a seamless transition into the campus life and culture. 

 

Space is extremely limited. 


If you have questions about the T2T Learning Community, please feel free to contact us at 301-314-0159 or at TOCSL@umd.edu



TOCSL Peer 2 Peer Mentoring Program

posted on December 13, 2017

Feeling overwhelmed? Stressed? Nervous about your transition to Maryland? Getting involved? Housing? Don’t fret! The Engagement and Learning Assistants (ELAs) are here to help!


The Transfer and Off-Campus Student Life (TOCSL) offers a Peer 2 Peer (P2P) Mentoring Program! As P2P mentors, the ELAs will hold office hours in the TOCSL Office and provide check-ins to interested students. As fellow transfer and off-campus students, we've been in your shoes and are excited to help!


If interested, please fill out this form to request a P2P Mentor

 

Or you can just stop by our office as we also offer Drop-In Hours throughout the semester!!


Upcoming TOCSL Events

Are you looking to connect and engage with other transfer and off-campus students like yourself? We have something for you!!!

All of our TOCSL Programs are a great way for you to get involved on and off campus with other UMD Students. Please see below our 2018 Spring semester event calendar! We also post event dates on our Facebook Page here

TOCSL Spring New Student Welcome! -- Thursday, January 25 (4pm-6pm)

TOCSL Meet Maryland Scavenger Hunt -- Tuesday, January 30 (3pm-4:30pm)

TOCSL Meet-Up: Swing Dance Night -- Thursday, February 15, (6pm-8pm)

TOCSL Meet-Up: Game Night-- Thursday, February 22, (5pm-7pm)

TOCSL Milk & Cookies Session: How to Find an Internship -- Tuesday, March 6 (12pm-1pm) 

TOCSL Milk & Cookies Session: How to Run for Student Government Association -- Monday, March 12 (time TBD)

TOCSL Meet-Up: Trivia Night -- Thursday, March 29, (5pm-7pm)

TOCSL Intramural Team -- Date & Time TBD

TOCSL Milk & Cookies Session: How to Find and Apply for Scholarships -- April (exact date TBD)

TOCSL Meet-Up: Adventure Course -- Friday, April 6, (3pm-5pm)

Transfer & Off-Campus Student Appreciation Week (TOCSAW) -- April 28 to May 5

 

For 2017 Fall semester event calendar, please see below. 

 

TOCSL Vibes: New Student Welcome – Friday, August 25 (3:30pm-5pm)

Good Morning Commuters – Wednesday, September 6 (7:30am-11am)

First Look Fair – Wednesday & Thursday, September 13 & 14 (10am-3pm)

TOCSL Meet-Up: Milk and Cookies Session 1 – September 27 (5:15pm)

TOCSL Meet-Up: Milk and Cookies Session 2 – Tuesday, October 3 (6:15pm)

Good Morning Commuters– Wednesday, October 4 (7:30am-11am)

TOCSL Meet-Up: Day at the Adventure Program -- Friday, October 13 (4pm-6pm)

TOCSL Meet-Up: Milk and Cookies Session 3 – Wednesday, October 18 (3pm)

TOCSL Meet-Up: Trip to Fright Fest, Six Flags (SOLD OUT) – Friday, October 20 (4:30pm-12am)

Good Morning Commuters – Wednesday, November 1 (7:30am-10:30am)

TOCSL Meet-Up: Cosmic Bowling – Thursday, November 30 (5pm-7pm)

Good Morning Commuters – Wednesday, December 6 (7:30am-10:30am)

 

Please stay up to date with TOCSL through our website and social media! 

Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2017

First Day of Classes August 28 (Monday)
Labor Day September 4 (Monday)
Thanksgiving Recess November 22-26 (Wednesday-Sunday)
Last Day of Classes December 11 (Monday)
Reading Day December 12 (Tuesday)
Final Exams December 13-19 (Wednesday-Tuesday)
Commencement - Main Ceremony December 19 (Tuesday)
Commencement - College/Department Ceremonies December 20 (Wednesday)

Winter Term 2018

Classes Begin January 2 (Tuesday)
Dr. Martin Luther King Holiday January 15 (Monday)
Classes End January 22 (Monday)

Spring Semester 2018

First Day of Classes January 24 (Wednesday)
Spring Break March 18-25 (Sunday-Sunday)
Last Day of Classes May 10 (Thursday)
Reading Day May 11  (Friday)
Final Exams May 12-18 (Saturday-Friday)
Commencement - College/Department Ceremonies May 19 (Saturday)
Commencement - Main Ceremony and College/Department Ceremonies
May 20 (Sunday)
Commencement - College/Department Ceremonies May 21 (Monday) 

engage with us

Transfer and Off Campus Student Life is located in the Engagement Office in the Adele H. Stamp across the Capital One Bank. Also feel free to contact us at 301-405-0986 or at TOCSL@umd.edu

CONNECT WITH US