Chaplains

Chaplaincies work collectively to serve the spiritual needs of the University of Maryland.

University Chaplains

In the open, inclusive environment of many cultures and faiths, the Chaplaincies work collectively to serve the spiritual needs of the University of Maryland. The Chaplains, supported by and representing their faith communities, serve their faith traditions while demonstrating a unity that contributes to the rich diversity and quality of life at the University and in the community.

Recognized Chaplaincies:

For specific information about chaplaincy programs and worship opportunities please contact the chaplains' directly. In addition to the chaplaincies and their programs there are other religious student groups on campus. To search a listing of these groups please visit www.orgsync.umd.edu  

Chaplains: 

Baptist
Mrs. Jessica Senasack
2120 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 301-405-8443
Email: jessbcm@umd.edu
www.studentorg.umd.edu/bcm

Black Ministries
Rev. Dr. Ruby Reese Moone
1112 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 301-405-8445
Email: rrmoone2@aol.com

Chaplain Emerita
Rev. Beth Platz
2103 Memorial Chapel

Christian Science
Mr. Bob Snyder, Advisor
2118 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 301-474-0403
Email: rsnyder@umd.edu
www.csoconnection.com

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
(Mormon)

Mr. Richard Bracey
7601 Mowatt Lane, College Park
Phone: 301-422-7570
Email: braceyrn@ldschurch.org

Eastern Orthodox
Rev. Kosmas Karavellas
2747 Riva Road, Annapolis
Phone: 410-573-2072 
Email: fatherkosmas@schgochurch.org

Episcopal/Anglican
Rev. Otis Gaddis III
2116 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 301-405-8453
Email: ogaddis@umd.edu 
edow.org/eacm

Hindu
Rev. Kiran Sankhla
2112 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 301-570-6426 
Email: muraris2002@yahoo.com

Jewish - Hillel
Rabbi Ari Israel
Hillel Jewish Student Center
7612 Mowatt Lane, College Park
Phone: 301-422-6200
Email: aisrael@marylandhillel.org
www.marylandhillel.org

Jewish - Chabad
Rabbi Eli Backman
Chabad Jewish Student Center
7403 Hopkins Ave., College Park
Phone: 301-277-2994
Email: chabad@umd.edu
www.umdchabad.org

Lutheran
Rev. Ray Ranker
2103 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 301-405-8448
Email: lutheran@umd.edu or rranker@umd.edu
http://lutheranterps.com/

Muslim
Mr. Tarif Shraim
2118 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 240-671-9321
tshraim@gmail.com

Roman Catholic
Fr. Robert Walsh 
Catholic Student Center
4141 Guilford Road, College Park
Phone: 301-864-6223
Email: frrob@catholicterps.org
www.catholicterps.org

United Campus Ministry 
(Presbyterian, Disciples of Christ, 
United Church of Christ)

Rev. Holly Ulmer
2101 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 301-405-8450
Email: ulmer@umd.edu
www.ucmcollegepark.org 

United Methodist
Rev. Brett Pinder
2102 Memorial Chapel
Phone: 301-405-8451
Email: bpinder2@umd.edu
www.umdmethodists.org